Punjab Police has a pervasive organisational structure. D.G.P. headquartered at Chandigarh along with his secretarial staff including administration, intelligence, security, crime & Forensic Science Laboratory, provisioning and computer wireless & communication.

The state is divided into Four zones - Patiala zone (I), Jalandhar zone (II) and Border range, and each zone is headed by an Inspector General of Police.  These Zones have been further divided into six Ranges namely Patiala, Faridkot, Ferozepur,Ludhiana, Jalandhar and Border Range.

Presently Punjab has 24 police districts headed by SSsP.

Punjab Police has an armed compliment consisting of eight of Punjab Armed Police battalions, seven battalions of India Reserve Battalion and five battalions of Commandos.